Zero Dark Thirty named best film of the year by the National Board of Review

The National Board of Review has announced the winners of their awards for 2012, and according to them the best film of the year is Zero Dark Thirty, proving it with some early momentum as we enter awards season. Kathryn Bigelow’s last film, The Hurt Locker, won best picture at the Oscars, as well as earning Bigelow best director gold.

Rounding out the NBR’s top ten list are (in alphabetical order); Argo, Beasts of the Southern Wild, Django Unchained, Les Misarables, Lincoln, Looper, The Perks of Being a Wallflower, Promised Land and Silver Linings Playbook.

Zero Dark Thirty also took home the honors of best director for Bigelow and best actress for Jessica Chastain. In the best actor category Bradley Cooper won for Silver Linings Playbook while Ann Dowd won for Compliance and Leonardo DiCaprio was honored as best supporting actor for his role in Django Unchained.

In the writing categories Rain Johnson won for his original screenplay, Looper, and David O. Russell won for his adaptation of Silver Linings Playbook, based on Matthew Quick’s novel. Also honored were; Wreck-It Ralph as best animated film, Amour as best foreign film and Searching for Sugarman as best documentary.